Laparoscopy Survival Kit

Unfortunately, some of us have the not pleasure of requiring a laparoscopy procedure to get a veiw of our baby boxes. As I continue to recover from mine, I wanted to share a list of things that I found helpful.

  • Yoga Pants- these will save your life (okay, not literally but you get the idea)
  • Your favorite comfort food for when you first get home
  • Lots of good fluids to help keep hydrated and I was really thirsty the first couple of days afterwards
  • Access to your favorite shows and movies, ideally through a way that doesn’t require movement OR a good book/series
  • Your favorite blanket- I even had one in the car so I could sleep on the way home
  • A tummy pillow- this especially important if you have pets (or little children). I used mine a shield and it also helped me stay comfortable.
  • Pain killers if you find you need them, I took Aleve 3 times in the first 36 hours just so I could be comfortable enough to sleep, after I was fine but you may need more or less
  • Vitamin E oil for once your incisions begin to scab, it will soften them and reduce scarring. It also helps mine be less itchy.
  • Mullet Pants for when you must return to work
  • Anything you may need to feel comfortable!

While I hope you never have to use this list, if you do, I hope it proves helpful.

About mama@heart

After 3.5 years of infertility, we were beyond thrilled to discover our last IUI had been a success! Our RE called it a miracle but we knew it was divine. Now I blog about motherhood after infertility. We practice attachment parenting with a focus on natural and gentle methods. We babywear, cloth diaper, advocate for breastfeeding and many others. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laparoscopy Survival Kit

  1. I made the mistake of trying to wear jeans my first week back to work and ended up in tears and at Target buying yoga pants!! They QUICKLY became my best friend and we’ve been inseparable ever since! Haha! Comfort foods are a great idea!! I’m glad that you were able to get by with just Aleve! My hubby had to call the surgeon within 2 hours of being home to increase my painkiller dosage!! But I’m a weenie when it comes to pain! LOL! ❤️

    • hannahlkuhn says:

      yeah yoga pants are helpful right now. I am fortunate though that my two favorite pairs of jeans are pretty forgiving in the waistline so they don’t hurt! Work pants were/are the biggest issue for me. I lived on Grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup the first two days home, it was all I wanted.

Leave a comment